Petach 51

שורש הבריות הוא רק בז’ תחתונות, שהם ז’ ימי בראשית. והג’ ראשונות הם רק עטרות על הז”ת, להנהיגם ולתקנם. על כן במציאותם אין שייך קלקול, כי הם למעלה ממעשה בני אדם. והעוונות אינם פוגמים אותם, אלא מסלקים אותם, ועל כן נמצאו ונתקיימו.

אך מה שנמצא בהם לצורך הז’ תחתונות – זה לא נתקן אפילו בהם, כי אם היה נתקן, היו כל הז’ תחתונות מתוקנים גם כן. ולכן גם בהם מה ששייך מהם לז”ת – נפגם. וזה עושה שלא יתפשט כוחם היטב לתקן הז”ת, כי אם היה מתפשט תמיד – לא היה קלקול בעולם:

The seven lower Sephirot, i.e., Chessed, Gevurah, Tipheret, Netzach, Yesod, and Malchut of Atzilut, which are, i.e., correspond to, the seven days of creation, are the root of the created realm, while the first three Sephirot, i.e., Chochma, Binah, and Da’at, only serve as “crowns” over the lower seven to help govern and rectify them. As such harm is irrelevant to them, i.e., to the first three Sephirot, since they’re beyond the reach of human actions, so sins don’t harm them and can only set them aside. That’s why the first three Sephirot continued to exist and endure during the course of the breaking of the vessels.

Nevertheless, what exists in them, i.e., in the first three Sephirot, that serves the needs of the lower seven Sephirot wasn’t rectified, for had it been, then all of the seven lower Sephirot would also have been rectified. So those aspects of the first three Sephirot that relate to the seven lower Sephirot became blemished rather than break like the lower seven. Still and all, that blemish stymied their ability to repair the seven lower Sephirot. For if they were able to, then there’d be no harm in the world whatsoever.

(c) 2012 Rabbi Yaakov Feldman

Feel free to contact me at


AT LONG LAST! Rabbi Feldman’s translation of Maimonides’ “Eight Chapters” is available here at a discount.

You can still purchase a copy of Rabbi Feldman’s translation of “The Gates of Repentance” here at a discount as well.

Rabbi Yaakov Feldman has also translated and commented upon “The Path of the Just” and “The Duties of the Heart” (Jason Aronson Publishers).

Rabbi Feldman also offers two free e-mail classes on entitled “Spiritual Excellence” and “Ramchal”.

2 responses to “Petach 51

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *