The Lower Seven (3)

Ramchal indicates at the beginning of Petach 52 that the source of the makeup of Zeir Anpin is in fact Imma’s Judgment element — her five Gevurot [1].

As we pointed out in our previous entry, the Partzuf of Zeir Anpin is the next-to-last one, lying below Erich Anpin, Abba, and Imma, and right atop Nukveh.

We’ll be discussing Zeir Anpin because its six component Sephirot (Chessed, Gevurah, Tipheret, Netzach, Hod, and Yesod) and Nukveh comprise the Partzuf-equivalent of the lower seven Sephirot under discussion.

His point here is that Zeir Anpin is rooted in Gevurah (harsh judgment). Let’s see what’s significant about that.

As he explains in his own comments here, “the whole thrust of Zeir Anpin is to govern according to (harsh) Judgment” [2]. “For while Erich Anpin governs through kindness and (it allows for) every aspect of mitigation by mitigating all judgments wherever they may be [3], Zeir Anpin is just the opposite”.

After all, we’re taught that God is “compassionate and gracious, slow to anger — Erich Anpin in Aramaic — and abundant in loving kindness and truth, preserving loving kindness for thousands, forgiving iniquity and rebellion and sin” (Exodus 34:6-7).


[1] For more on what’s depicted in Petach 52 see Iggerot Pitchei Chochma v’Da’at 38, and Klallim Rishonim 15-16, 23.

[2] See Petach 53; Ma’amar HaVichuach 136; Pitchei Chochma v’Da’at 83; Adir Bamarom pp. 28a, 92b; Zohar, Iddrah Rabbah, Parshat Naso 138b; Eitz Chaim, Sha’ar HaKavannot Yom HaKippurim 102b.

[3] See Iddrah Rabbah 129; Da’at Tevunot 154.

(c) 2013 Rabbi Yaakov Feldman

Feel free to contact me at


AT LONG LAST! Rabbi Feldman’s translation of Maimonides’ “Eight Chapters” is available here at a discount.

You can still purchase a copy of Rabbi Feldman’s translation of “The Gates of Repentance” here at a discount as well.

Rabbi Yaakov Feldman has also translated and commented upon “The Path of the Just” and “The Duties of the Heart” (Jason Aronson Publishers).

Rabbi Feldman also offers two free e-mail classes on entitled “Spiritual Excellence” and “Ramchal”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *