The Great Day of Judgment (3)

There are three “days of judgment” in fact: Rosh Hashanah, when you’re judged for the year to come; the day of your death, when you’re judged for the afterlife; and finally, when you’re to be judged for eternity [1] (which is why it’s termed the “Great” or ultimate Day of Judgment).

The Great Day of Judgment will occur after the resurrection of the dead [2], it will take place in Emek Yehosaphat [3], and it will be a “dark and stunning day — a fearsome and frightening” [4] and “horrific” [5] day.

It’s generally held that everyone’s right to resurrected in fact will be judged then, as well as the ultimate fate of each one’s body and soul [6]. But Ar’i contends that only non-Jews are to be judged then [7].

Two things will serve you especially well in the Great Day of Judgment: your having observed the Shabbat [8] and learned Torah [9].

And after the Great Day of Judgment will have come about God’s presence will become manifest to all [10], and it will become clear that everything that had occurred was purposeful and perfectly and flawlessly set in order [11].




[1]       Ramban’s Sha’ar HaGemul.

[2]       Ibid.

[3]       Midrash v’Yoshaiah.

[4]       Otzar HaMidrashim.

[5]       Midrash Tanchuma, Pekudai.

[6]       Ramban’s Sha’ar HaGemul.

[7]       See Nephesh HaChaim 1:17, implying that they alone would need to be judged whereas the body and souls of all Jews will automatically merit The World to Come.

[8]       Mechilta, Beshalach.

[9]       Midrash Daniel.

[10]     Midrash Tanchuma, Shoftim.

[11]     Otzar HaMidrashim.


(c) 2014 Rabbi Yaakov Feldman
Feel free to contact me at


AT LONG LAST! Rabbi Feldman’s translation of Maimonides’ “Eight Chapters” is available here at a discount.

You can still purchase a copy of Rabbi Feldman’s translation of “The Gates of Repentance” here at a discount as well.

Rabbi Yaakov Feldman has also translated and commented upon “The Path of the Just” and “The Duties of the Heart” (Jason Aronson Publishers).

Rabbi Feldman also offers two free e-mail classes on entitled “Spiritual Excellence” and “Ramchal”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.